Counting will be done on Tuesday for 58 assembly seats in 11 states

Bhopal / Lucknow / Ahmedabad. Counting will be held on Tuesday for the by-elections in 58 assembly seats in 11 states including Madhya Pradesh (Madhya Pradesh), Uttar Pradesh (Covid-19), among the Kovid-19 epidemic. The results of the by-elections in MP’s 28 assembly seats will decide the future of the state’s Shivraj Singh Chauhan government. The officials said that the counting of votes will start at 8 am and according to the Election Commission’s Kovid-19 guidelines, a candidate, his election agent and counting agent can be present in the hall of the counting center. He informed that various steps have been taken to maintain social distance at counting places. For the first time in the history of Madhya Pradesh, by-elections have been held in so many seats.

22 MLAs resigned in Madhya Pradesh
In March this year, 22 Congress MLAs resigned in MP, due to which the Kamal Nath government, which came in the minority, fell in the minority. Most of the MLAs were supporters of Jyotiraditya Scindia, who later joined the BJP. Scindia himself left the Congress in March and joined the BJP. In the 230-member Vidhan Sabha of Madhya Pradesh, there are currently 107 BJP BJP, 87 Congress, two BSP, one SP and four independent MLAs.

After the by-election was announced, Congress MLA from Damoh Rahul Lodhi also resigned and joined the BJP. Based on the effective strength of the House 229, the magic figure of the majority is 115. BJP needs eight seats to get this figure while Congress needs to win all 28 seats.Results will come in seven seats of Uttar Pradesh

Counting will be done for the by-elections in seven assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh. Extensive arrangements have been made for smooth counting of the administration. These seats were held on November 3.

In the by-election, an average 53 per cent of voters had decided the fate of 88 candidates in EVMs. The seats where the by-elections were held include Naogaon Sadat, Tundla, Bangarmau, Bulandshahar, Deoria, Ghatampur and Malhani assembly seats.

By-elections have been held in other states including Gujarat
The by-election will count for eight assembly seats in Gujarat, four seats in Manipur and one seat in Haryana, one in Chhattisgarh, two in Jharkhand and two in Karnataka. Apart from this, votes will also be counted for two seats in Nagaland, one seat in Telangana and two seats in Odisha.

All seats except Manipur were voted on November 3. Voting was held on November 7 for the Manipur assembly seats. Apart from this, counting of votes will also be done for the by-election of Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat of Bihar. The results of the assembly elections in Bihar will also come on Tuesday.

The by-elections were held on November 3 in the eight assembly seats of Gujarat, Abdasa, Limbdi, Karjan, Gadhada, Morbi, Dhari, Dang and Kaprada, with a total turnout of 60.75 percent. In the by-election, a total of 81 candidates contested the elections in these eight seats.

Due to the resignation of the sitting Congress MLAs before the Rajya Sabha elections held in June this year, it was necessary to have a by-election on these seats. Five of these later joined the ruling BJP and the party fielded them from the seats they had won in 2017. Eight counting centers have been set up for counting of votes in these assembly seats.

Arrangement in Jharkhand
The counting of by-elections in Dumka and Bermo assembly seats in Jharkhand will be counted under heavy security for which all preparations have been made. Joint Chief Electoral Officer of Jharkhand Hiralal Mandal told that counting of votes in both the assembly constituencies will start at 8 am on Tuesday. He said that if everything is normal, the counting of votes is likely to be completed by 3 pm.

Adequate security arrangements have been made in Nagaland for counting the by-elections in the two assembly seats.

Results will come in two seats of Nagaland
Nagaland Chief Electoral Officer Abhijeet Sinha said that all the rules of health security will be followed during the counting of votes as this exercise is happening in the midst of Kovid-19 epidemic. By-elections were held for two assembly seats in the state – South Angami-1 of Kohima and Pungro Kifire in Kiphire district. Both seats were vacant after the demise of legislators of these constituencies – Vikho-o Yushu and T Torechu respectively.

The main contest for the South Angami-1 seat is between the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party candidate Medo Yukha and the opposition NPF’s Kikovy Kiara and Independent candidate S. Peter Jashumo. Five candidates, including Khaseo Pomegranate of Congress and L Sangatam of BJP, are in the fray in Pungaro Kiffire seat. The counting of votes for the by-elections in the two assembly seats in Odisha will be done on Tuesday in the strict Kovid-19 protocol and all preparations for this have been completed. By-elections were held on November 3 in Balasore and Tiratol assembly constituencies of the state.

Balasore seat of Odisha will result
Odisha Chief Electoral Officer SK Lohani said that the by-election votes of Balasore Assembly seat will be counted in the office premises of the District Magistrate, while the votes of Tiratol will be counted at SVM College in Jagatsinghpur. Four assembly seats in Manipur had a turnout of 91.54 percent in the November 7 by-election. The by-elections were held for Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha seats in Thoubal district and Setu in Kangpokpi and Wangoi seats in Imphal West.

Seat was vacant in Chhattisgarh after Ajit Jogi’s death
The by-election was held for the vacant Marwahi assembly seat after the death of the first Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, Ajit Jogi. In the by-election, 77.89 percent voters exercised their franchise. There is a contest between the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and the opposition BJP and Congress in the Dubbak assembly seat of Telangana.

The by-election was held in August this year due to the death of TRS sitting MLA Solipeta Ramalinga Reddy. By-elections were also held in Baroda assembly seat in Haryana and this seat became vacant in April due to the death of Krishna Hooda. There are 14 candidates in the fray including Yogeshwar Dutt of Bharatiya Janata Party.

By-elections in these seats in Karnataka
The by-elections were held in two assembly seats in Karnataka – RR Nagar in Bengaluru Urban District and Sira in Tumkuru District. The by-elections in both these seats were held due to the death of MLA B Satyanarayana from Sira and the resignation of Congress MLA Muniratna from RR Nagar. B Satyanarayan won on the JD (S) ticket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *